My sweet tooth made me do it

So tonight I made some dessert to bring over to a friends. I really wanted to try Alton Brown’s brownie recipe for like forever now, so I said what the heck, I’ll give it a go! Anything with 2 sticks of butter, 2 cups of sugar and 4 eggs must be good in my book. I love his approach to cooking, sort of a Mr. Wizard meets Julia Child. He has such a scientific approach and his method teaches even the novice cook the reasoning behind what makes stuff work. If you are not a baker I suggest you try one of his recipes as they are technical and hard to mess up. Anyhow, I whipped up this concoction rather quickly and got it ready to bring to our neighbors. The initial direction of “beat the eggs until they are light yellow and fluffy” sounded vague, I mean give me a time on how long this should take dude?! But they came out perfectly.

The only thing that could make them any better was some killer frosting. I have some leftover creme fraiche from a recipe I made last week (will post that one later, it was good too) and I sought out a recipe that had this as the ingredient. I’m not sure what exactly creme fraiche is, I will have to research that one later and give you all the scoop, but I hear it called for quite a bit, like its companion marscapone. I found some love cake Giada was making for her hubby and scrolled down to the frosting part. I used her frosting with a few modifications (like no rasberry jam, added some half and half and vanilla) and it came out to this creamy buttery yum yum frosting, think carrot cake cream cheese frosting but 10 times better with the creme fraiche! I am so glad I experiment in the kitchen because it almost never turns out badly. Our hosts loved the brownies and even the picky G tore em up. Try these if you want to eat something so sweet your teeth will hurt for days after.

Leave a Reply

