Smashed potato salad

just a quick post today since its almost 107 degrees here, yes folks, that is not a typo, we are almost done cooking here

this weekend we had a plethora of cookouts so I had to dig out my trusty recipe binder full of cut out recipes and ones printed after watching cooking shows. I needed to make a side for a cookout and this was the ingredient I had on hand – potatoes – yep that’s it, a big ol’ bag of potatoes, make it work Tara! I was getting tired of my old potato salad recipe (sorry mom) even though I had made some great variations to it by adding bacon and dill and all sorts of other random things to spice it up. I have tried my go to cooks versions on foodnetwork.com, Ina, Alton… but nothing has knocked my socks off. Then BAM! I remembered I had printed an Emeril recipe for Smashed Potato Salad when we were stationed in Sicily and I had not made it in several years. So I said what the heck, I’ll give it a try. I did not really smash up the potatoes as it said to do, but you can modify the texture to how you like it.

It looked a lot like my current recipe with the standard ingredients of potatoes and mayo and hardboiled eggs, but it had a few key differences that really made it mmm mmm good! One was the yellow onion, usually I use purple, and it gave it a nice bite. Second was dijon instead of yellow mustard, and that added a nice sweetness. Third was brown sugar instead of white, just a spoonful, but the brown really added a nice maple flavor. There was also no vinegar as there usually is, replaced by worcestershire sauce, and this really makes the dressing part of the recipe taste superb. Plus the addition of garlic added some more depth and flavor to the salad. I modified the recipe as I usually do, opting to leave out the hot sauce and lemon. I actually think the hot sauce would be ok but I didn’t feel like it that day. As far as the lemon, that’s a personal preference thing, and I love lemon, but something about lemon and potatoes just doesn’t jive in my mind or tummy. So if you are looking for a fresh take on potato salad try this recipe out, it has small modifications that make a big difference. My guests licked their plates so I guess it worked!

One Response to “Smashed potato salad”

  1. Vicki Campanella Says:

    I, for one, will say that was a potato salad with great flavor! You did a great job with your “special touches” and it made for a real taste treat! What a wonderful hostess you are….P.S. wish I would have taken MORE of the Blueberry Buckle (G corrected me when I called it a “coffee cake”!) OUT OF THIS WORLD delicious!

Leave a Reply

