caprese on a stick = love

I am easy to please. Give me a ball of fresh mozzarella and some tasty tomatoes (not those “vine ripened” ones at the commissary that are probably from a lab, but the real deal fresh from someone’s garden ones) and some fresh basil from my awesome herb garden (love you Campy) and I can create so many feasts. There is the standard caprese salad, slices of cheese and tomato and topped with basil leaves. Then I use some yummy olive oil (not some fake “authentic Italian olive oil” that when you read the label only contains 1% italian oil) and some sea salt sprinkled on top. If you make this you have instant fancy app and it is effortless. You can also add some balsamic vinegar if you like, sometimes I do, and it adds a nice bite.

Take the same 3 ingredients and I toss it with fresh pasta and shrimp or chicken and you have a simple but really tasty dish. Additionally with the basil, tomato and mozzarella you can make a magherita pizza, which is a work of art. So I got tired of making the same old caprese salad to bring to functions so I invented a new version, caprese on a stick! I used the same ingredients and layered them on a kabob stick, and it was a big hit. In one bit you get a bit of each ingredient and it is fast to make and it makes a pretty display. After the party was over my plate was empty, which happens to me quite a bit 🙂 So if you want to try caprese for the first time or you want to re-invent it, listen to my advice… manga!

2 Responses to “caprese on a stick = love”

  1. jencphotography Says:

    These look so yummy and easy! I’m such a non cook….that’s why I love lurking on your blog…Trying to get inspiration!!!! I want to try these…..and we even grow our own tomatos!

  2. Can’t teach an old Italian new tricks… « What Tara's Cookin' Says:

    […] Caprese Salad on a stick […]

Leave a Reply

