Boston Marathon Chili

It’s starting to feel chilly in the air which makes me very happy because that means I can dig out my cold weather tummy warmer recipes. Something just seems wrong with making chili in the summer when it is 109 in Lemore. So today it feels crisp and it is perfect chili weather. I had tried many recipes before settling on this one, from a ground chicken chili that was supposed to be healthy, to a potent bean combo version that had serious side effects. I can’t remember when I found my Boston Marathon Chili recipe on Epicurious.com (if you have not checked out this site, it is a gourmet but accessible recipe site with recipes from Bon Appetit and Gourmet, among others) but it was instant love. You know I like anything Italian or anything with Boston in the title. I have been making this for about 4 years now and I always get great reviews and little leftovers.

What makes this unique is the combination of pork ribs and beef just gives the chili such a nice flavor. I often use Navy beans (in honor of my hubby) instead of the ones called for. It seems like a lot of chili powder but it is not super spicy. I am not a big fan of “burn the crap out of your mouth” hot chili. But you could always adjust the spice if need be. The best part for me is topping it with tortilla chips, monterey jack, sour cream, onion and cilantro. If you want more spice add some jalapeno as a topping to heat it up.  I often make it on the stove in a Le Cruset cast iron pan (if you don’t have a dutch oven) and I have also made it in the crock pot too, sticking everything in there and then leaving it about 6 hours on low. So if you are feeling chilly and you need some hearty chili to warm you up without having to run a marathon, check this out.

2 Responses to “Boston Marathon Chili”

  1. Vicki Campanella Says:

    mmmmm, was THIS the chili you were talking about making, Tara? Sounds kinda tempting:-)

  2. cooler temps + tummy warming recipes = happy Tara « What Tara's Cookin' Says:

    […] Each year I make my staple recipes in the winter and fall, such as my Stracoto con Porcini or my Boston Marathon Chili, but this fall I am feeling inspired. I decided to try this Chicken-Corn Chili from my recent issue […]

Leave a Reply

