The Menu

just had family up for the weekend and had to fill their bellies with delicious food… too many recipes to post descriptions of all but in a few days I will post my mom’s delicious rasberry creamcheese almond coffeecake recipe, which I made on Saturday. I also made the Boston Marathon chili I posted earlier, on Friday night, and it was a big hit! Saturday night was our big family meal and here is what I made: Prime Rib Roast in my Showtime Rotisserie with Montreal Steak Seasoning, Dirty Risotto (think dirty rice, Italian style, OMG it was good), Sun-dried Tomato Vegetables, and Chocolate Sformato (a recipe I have been dying to try). Dirty risotto is my new favorite, the hot sausage and pancetta really added great flavor to the dish. I know risotto can be intimidating and this recipe is daunting, but it is all about the broth. As long as you slowly add the broth (about 3/4 a cup for about a 40 minute process) and stir with a wooden spoon to really break down the starch, you can succeed! The vegetables call for olives, which I omitted by the way, but I think it would be good either way. The key to this dish is the seasoning and it makes such a pretty dish for your table!

We ate like kings and everyone had happy full bellies. I hope you try some of these recipes if you are looking to change up your side dishes or desserts!

Last night I made a new dish from my food network magazine that was killer! It was sausage and cauliflower with pasta, which sounds weird but was actually quite tasty. I was trying to use up ingredients I already had, sausage and cauliflower, and this recipe worked out perfectly. The Pecorino Romano really topped it off well, if you have never tried authentic romano, you should, it has an amazing flavor that will enhance any dish.

Buon fine settimana! (have a good weekend in Italian)

2 Responses to “The Menu”

  1. Vicki Campanella Says:

    And we enjoyed every tasty morsel that Tara prepared for us! We’re always happy to enjoy all the delicious food you serve us and especially enjoy the beautiful company:-)

  2. Kelly Davis Says:

    Wow! I am so impressed! Better than your recipes are the stories that go with it. You are really talented and I am loving reading these! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

