Apple Slab & Gravy Tips?

Just a quick post to share a recipe. I am trying this apple slab for my apple pie this year. Just to mix it up and try something different. I will let you know how it comes out. Here is the recipe if you want to try it too!

I am also making my famous garlic mashed potatoes. You boil your favorite kind of potatoes and add a head of roasted garlic, a stick of butter and a cup of sour cream. It is sooooo  good. I am thinking of using Marscapone instead of sour cream because I saw that on another mashed recipe and marscapone would add a nice flavor.

Oh and as much as I love to cook and have pretty good luck with recipes most of the time, I am not good at making gravy. If anyone can post any tips in the comments here I would love you long time!

Hope everyone has a great thanksgiving!

3 Responses to “Apple Slab & Gravy Tips?”

  1. Kelly Davis Says:

    Equal parts of flour and butter, make a rue (let it cook together and get tanish in color). If you don’t cook your rue enough, your gravy will taste like flour. If you overcook your rue, your gravy can taste burnt. Add your liquid (broth from your turkey) a little at a time and just keep stirring and cooking and adding liquid until it is the thickness you like. I like to add a little salt and pepper as well. I can’t tell you measurements because my mom taught me like this. Hope it helps! Actually the only way to get good at making gravy is to practice over and over. Hope this helps! Love reading your blogs! Do you love me long time?

  2. Marg Schirm Says:

    gravy is on sale at Fresh and Easy!

  3. Tara Says:

    thanks Kelly, I had to learn to make a rue for another recipe, so that is a good start 🙂 I am glad you gave me some tips, I will let you know how it comes out! if it comes out good I will love you long time! 😉

Leave a Reply

