Chicken in a Dish

I have always wanted to make Chicken Cacciatore. My go to cookbook is Everyday Italian by Giada, and of course she had a recipe for it. She has every one of my favorite easy cutlet recipes, parmesan, marsala, picatta, milanese (will post this soon) and more. Her recipe seemed easy enough so I got the few ingredients I needed but opted for mushrooms instead of bell pepper. It also calls for capers, which some people may not be a fan of, so it is up to you. Capers (click the word to find out what they are, pretty cool) are what makes Picatta sauce have its distinct flavor and you can always cook them in the sauce an remove them. I was surprised to find the capers right by the olives for a couple of bucks, its not some fancy hard to find ingredient any more! I only used chicken thighs because that was what was on sale, so I used more of them to make up for the chicken breasts. We served it over Barilla shell pasta and boy did me and the girls have a feast! The chicken was so tender and the sauce was simple but had amazing flavor. If you have never tried Cacciatore before check this out, or try it if you want to make a simple authentic version!

2 Responses to “Chicken in a Dish”

  1. bunny1640@hotmail.com Says:

    looks yummy! have not made that in years and will try it soon. love the photos and the great writing!

  2. Cacciatore redone « What Tara's Cookin' Says:

    […] strips on sale so I decided to use them in Chicken Cacciatore to make it more healthy. I used my same recipe from here and followed the same steps except I used the strips which cook much faster than chicken on the […]

Leave a Reply

