Brownie Husband

Double dose of Brownies today, one for a friend who was looking for a good brownie recipe and one that I promised to post. First is Maida Heatter’s brownies. If you are not familiar with Maida, she is the goddess of dessert, with several decadent dessert cookbooks. My mom has been making these as long as I can remember. They are fudgey and gooey and delicious. I rebelled against her and made box brownies when I moved out on my own (yes this is as rebellious as I got, lame I know), but these are truly delicious.

Heatter’s Brownies

1 stick of butter

2 Sq. unsweetened chocolate

1 cup sugar

1/2 tsp vanilla

2 eggs

1/2 cup flour

1/2 cup nuts (optional, I am not a fan of nuts in my brownies)

pinch of salt

Melt butter and chocolate over low heat and cool 3 mins. Add sugar, vanilla, eggs (one at a time) and mix to blend. Add flour, salt and nuts, just stir to blend. Line an 8X8 pan with foil and butter the foil. Bake 350 degrees, 20-25 mins.

Ok now for the Amaretto ones, can you say OMG! the frosting is like amaretto fudge. If you are not familiar with Amaretto, it is an almond flavored liquor from Italy. There are several imitations but the good stuff is the DiSaronno (yes please send me some free for the plug, DiSaronno makers). I have even bought a nip of it for the recipe since the big bottle is pricey, and a nip will easily cover the 4T you need for the recipe. These brownies are to die for, easy to make, and will impress any sweet tooth.

Amaretto Brownies

1 cup butter, 4 ounces (4 squares) of unsweetened chocolate, 2 cups of sugar, 4 eggs – beaten, 2Tablespoons of Amaretto, 1 1/2 cups of flour, 1/2 tsp of salt. Recipe for Amaretto frosting to follow.

Combine butter and chocolate over low heat until melted, stirring constantly. Add sugar and stir till combined. Remove from heat and cool. Stir in beaten eggs and Amaretto. Combine flour and salt, add to mixture, stirring well. Pour batter into greased 13X9 pan. Bake at 400 degrees for 15-18 minutes, don’t overcook. Cool, frost and sprinkle with almonds.

Amaretto frosting

1/4 cup butter, 1 oz unsweetened chocolate, 2Tablespoons half and half, 2 1/2 cups powdered sugar, dash of salt, 2Tablespoons of Amaretto.

Combine butter and chocolate over low heat until melted, add half and half. Add sugar, salt and Amaretto, stirring until smooth. Frost brownies once cool.

Oh and for an added bonus, watch this SNL clip, Brownie Husband, for a great laugh. This is the only husband I have right now!

4 Responses to “Brownie Husband”

  1. Michelle Says:

    Thanks, Tara!

  2. Tara Says:

    let me know if you try them how they come out…

  3. Jenn McPhee Says:

    Love love this recipe Tara. I’m known to make half recipes for myself when Ben is away. I’ve also shared it with my mom, another chocoholic. It’s become a true family favorite!

Leave a Reply

