That cake is whack!

Ever since I was little my mom has been making me “Tara’s Wacky Cake.” Well now it has been passed along to my lovely daughter and it is Gianna’s Wacky Cake. What is wacky cake you ask? Well it is a super easy and delicious chocolate cake recipe. It is the recipe my mom turned into the cupcakes that I have been enjoying this week on my endless cupcake “diet.” It is a great cake to make with your kids because you mix it right in the baking pan and it is really fun. My mom always tops it with a simple frosting of confectioners sugar, butter, vanilla and milk, along with your favorite color food coloring – which my mom usually mixes up a pretty color for her grand-babies. (see the frosting recipe at the end) Here we go:

Gianna’s (Tara’s) Wacky Cake

Heat oven to 350 degrees. Mix in an 8×8 pan: 1 1/2 cups of flour, 1 cup sugar, 1/2 tsp of salt, 1 tsp baking soda, 3Tablespoons Hershey cocoa (lately I have been using the Hershey’s special dark chocolate cocoa)

Sift all together with a fork. Make 2 small holes and one large hole in dry ingredients. Put 1/2 cup oil in larger hole, 1 Tablespoon cider vinegar in small hole and 1 teaspoon of vanilla in last small hole. Pour 1 cup of water over all of above and mix with fork until combined and smooth. Bake 35-45 minutes. You can also use a cupcake pan, which will shorten the baking time. I hate overcooked cake so I always check it earlier, so it is about 12-15 minutes for cupcakes, and I check at about 28 minutes for the cake.

Wacky cake is so delicious, it has this unique spongey chocolatey flavor. I think it would also be good with cream cheese frosting. Usually I whip up my mom’s easy frosting for my wacky cake. It has 2 1/2 cups confectionery sugar, 1 tablespoon of butter, 1/2 tsp vanilla and a touch of milk, enough to stir and whip it into a nice frosting texture. These measurements are approximate, I just eyeball it because I have made it so much. Enjoy!

2 Responses to “That cake is whack!”

  1. Stacy Walliser Says:

    Tara, I love this recipe! Perfect size for a small famly or when you need a desert but don’t want to be overwhelmed with tons of cake. I made mine with all organic ingredients and 100% Whole Wheat Pastry flowr. Here in Arizona, our flours can be quite dry resulting in a dry cake, not this time. It was perfect! I also used coconut oil for my shortening. My family loved it. Today to mix it up a little I omitted the cocoa powder and added 1 very ripe banana and and big handful of pecans spiced it up with some fresh nutmeg and cinniamon. I topped it with a brown sugar glaze. You know I’m a big fan of chocolate but this banna nut version is every bit as delicious as the chocolate. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

  2. sushi rice recipe Says:

    sushi rice recipe…

    […]That cake is whack! « What Tara's Cookin'[…]…

Leave a Reply

