A Tasty Twist on Eggplant Parmesan

I love Sunset magazine. Once I picked it up at my MIL’s I was hooked, with the cool travel spots and the great healthy but yummy recipes, it is a quick and easy read. I often cut out their recipes for my collection. But my large hoarder-esque collection of recipes rarely gets used. Sometimes I tuck a recipe into my purse so I can get the ingredients if I feel inspired at the store. I was excited to see some gigantic eggplant at the commissary so I was stoked to use a recipe I had been carrying around for a while, Healthy Comfort Food – Eggplant Parmesan. This recipe is so simple and tasty. I think the Cabernet Sauvignon wine and the red pepper flakes really make the sauce have a unique taste and little zing to it. Don’t get me wrong, my mom’s family eggplant parmesan recipe, with the round little breadcrumb covered slices in casserole form, is delish, but it was nice to try a fresh approach. Even my Italian Mama loved this dish. It has such a pretty presentation with the fresh mozarella ball slices and basil leaves. I opted to make 4 stacks in a big glass dish rather than four separate plates, but that would work too. So if you want to try a comforting dish with a new twist check out Sunset Magazine’s modern take… Oh and excuse the magazine stock photo, we scarfed all of ours down before I could take a pic!

Leave a Reply

