Belated Buona Pasquale

I have been meaning to post this recipe for some time. I made the most pretty and delicious cake for a lovely Easter dinner we had with MER and Adam this year. It was from a King Arthur Flour email newsletter I got with Italian Easter Traditions. I would have to say it is probably one of the hardest things I have made, because of all of the steps and the time, but well worth it for a special occasion and its taste alone! It is called a Chocolate Cassata and it is a recreation of the traditional Sicilian cake made for special occasions. It came out so beautifully when it was sliced for serving. By the way, Buona Pasquale means happy Easter in Italian, so you can say it a new way and sound really cool now!


I would say next time I would cook the cake a few mins less and use all of the simple syrup to help it be more moist. Everyone loved it, I am just picky about my own creations and I thought it was a tad dry. It was a very rich cake and it tasted amazing so it was the perfect end to our delicious meal along with the yummy coconut cake Cindy made. If you are feeling bold and want to knock your guests socks off with your impressive skills and knowledge of Italian desserts then check out the amazing recipe!

2 Responses to “Belated Buona Pasquale”

  1. amber Says:

    That cake looks delicious!

  2. Tara Says:

    it sure was tasty, the ricotta and chocolate chip filling was delicious, could be used for cannolis

Leave a Reply

