a little dish of Cielo

I am always pleased when my mom invites me over for dinner because a) I don’t have to cook, b) I don’t have to clean up (thanks dad) and c) its always delicious. Usually my mom sticks to the recipes I grew up with but sometimes I get invited when she tries an amazing new dish. But I must add that I can’t complain when she invites me over for her favorite “go to” recipes (if you check my veins I am pretty sure her marinara is flowing through them, ok I will post her secret recipe later if she allows me to). This time she was inspired by a recipe she saw on the today show from a famous Italian family, the Scotto family. She made a dish that was pure cielo (it means heaven in Italian). It sort of reminded me of an italian bowl of jambalaya or a hash. It was called Country Style chicken and sausage with peppers, onions and potatoes. If you are looking for a tasty flavorful dish that will knock your oven mitts off, try this dish! Oh and to make it taste even better, my mom added one cup of cooked pasta shells at the end, I think the pasta really made the dish.

Country-style chicken and sausage with peppers, onions/potatoes 
The Scottos 

1/2 cup extra-virgin olive oil 1 pound sweet Italian sausage, casings removed, finely chopped

2 pounds chicken cutlets, cleaned and cut lengthwise into 1 1/2- x 1/2-inch size pieces

1 1/2 pounds New Potatoes, washed, cut into quarters, skins left on

1/2 cup onions, halved lengthwise, then cut lengthwise into 1/2-inch wide strips

1/2 cup red peppers, cleaned and cut lengthwise into 1/2-inch wide strips

1/2 cup yellow peppers, cleaned and cut lengthwise into 1/2-inch wide strips

1/2 cup green peppers, cleaned and cut lengthwise into 1/2-inch wide strips

2 tablespoons chopped fresh garlic

2 tablespoons chopped fresh rosemary

2 tablespoons chopped fresh oregano

1/2 teaspoon red pepper chili flakes

3/4 cup dry white wine

1/4 cup chopped fresh flat-leaf Italian parsley

Salt and pepper

Preparation
1. Heat olive oil in a 12-inch heavy bottom (nonstick) skillet over moderately high heat until hot but not smoking, then saute sausages until browned, about 5 to 8 minutes. Transfer sausages with a slotted spoon to a bowl, reserving oil in skillet.
2. Add chicken, garlic, rosemary, oregano and chili to skillet and brown, turning frequently. Reduce heat to moderate, add potatoes, cook until tender.
3. Add peppers and onions, cook uncovered, stirring frequently, until vegetables are softened, about 5 to 6 minutes.
4. Add wine and reduce to about ¼ cup, 3 to 4 minutes. Season with salt and pepper, toss well, top with parsley and serve warm or at room temperature. You can add one cup of cooked pasta to toss with the rest at the end if you like.

Makes 4 servings

Leave a Reply

