cooler temps + tummy warming recipes = happy Tara

I have been waiting for the fall to come. Not that where we live has much of a fall but at least once it starts to cool off at night and I can open the windows and doors when I wake up for a brief moment of fresh air, I can reminisce about a New England Fall. One of my favorite parts of fall is the tummy warming recipes. There is just something comforting about pot roast, stews, chili or any sort of crock pot or slow roasted treat that makes it feel like the seasons are changing. Each year I make my staple recipes in the winter and fall, such as my Stracoto con Porcini or my Boston Marathon Chili, but this fall I am feeling inspired. I decided to try this Chicken-Corn Chili from my recent issue of my Food Network magazine. I usually try to do 1 or 2 new recipes, usually from this magazine, every week. This one caught my eye because I am tired of my same old red sauce or beef based chili recipes. The chili came out amazing, simple and light and a nice change from the typical ingredients. It said to make it with cornbread so I used my favorite Chopped judge’s cast iron skillet cornbread and can I say YUM!!!

Leave a Reply

