Stromboli must be Italian for scrumdiddlyumptious

I have always wanted to try making a Stromboli at home. For those of you who are wondering what it is, no it is not a musical instrument but a wonderful bite of deliciousness. It is like a Calzone and a Pizza made a baby. Think a rolled up pizza log for the visual. I happened to come across my FIL’s favorite chef, Guy Fieri, making this Stromboli recipe on his show the other day. After venturing to a local Italian deli yesterday for inspiration I decided to take the stromboli plunge. I think you could use any pizza toppings or calzone fillings you like in this dish. I am thinking shredded chicken or meatballs would work too, pretty much anything yummy. I grabbed a bag of pizza dough at the Italian deli to skip that step and make it a quicker dinner. I used Alpino Salami (my new discovery, salami and prosciutto combined, OMG) Sopressata (a salami like no other from Italy, think authentic salami not Oscar Meyers), and some Prosciutto di Parma (this stuff is the real deal, $22 a lb so I bought just a few slices for $3.52 as a treat). For my cheeses I used provolone, parmesan and grated pecorino romano. I didn’t have any fresh basil, shocker I know, so I used some I had dried from my former garden. The best part I think was how Guy has you brush the dough with butter and garlic, this really made the recipe sing as it was sort of like a twist on garlic bread with filling. It was super simple to make and my family thought I was pretty darn amazing! So if you are salivating while reading this, give Stromboli a try and you won’t regret it

Leave a Reply

