Leave some Chocolate Caldo for Babbo Natale

There were many great culinary treasures I discovered when I was in Italy. Magnum caramel bars (thank god they are in US now), mandorla granita, spaghetti alla vongole, pistachio alfredo, and many more things I could write in a novel. Hmm that is not a bad idea, it would be called “Tara eats everything in Italy”.  Anyhoo one of my favorite discoveries was Chocolate Caldo or Italian hot chocolate. Think of a big steaming cup of chocolate pudding freshly made. OMG I have so many fond memories of this beverage. One of them involves me and my friend Coy at one of our weekend adventures at the local Farmers market. So after moving back to the states I got Chocolate Caldo withdrawal. I attempted to make my own and even tried mexican hot chocolate which is supposed to be a similar consistency but not so much. I tried to google Ciobar, the brand of hot chocolate they use but I was not able to get it here in the US (Sicilian friends send me some please!)… Recently I stumbled on a recipe and I tried it and I heard the angels sing, it tasted pretty darn close to the Italian version. Don’t think it is going to be like the American version, it is much thicker and meant to be eaten with a spoon, not drank, it is a real treat. So in honor of my witty friend Coy and the bambina she is carrying, here is the recipe for her:

Chocolate Caldo

1/2 c cocoa baking powder

1/3 c sugar

1 tsp cornstarch

1 cup milk (at least 2%)

Mix dry ingredients in saucepan then add 1/2 c milk. Whisk over low heat till lumps are gone. then add rest of milk and cook for about 10 minutes on med/low heat until it thickens, it will thicken more as it cools. Then grab your spoon and enjoy! If you like chocolate you won’t be disappointed and I bet I will convert you!

Leave a Reply

