Black & White Italian Cookies

I have been wanting to share this recipe for a while, if you have ever seen the Black and White cookies at an Italian bakery (think Mike’s Pastry in the North End of Boston) or ever heard of them, then you are going to be excited about this post. It’s my mom’s secret family recipe, here it is

Black & White Cookies

Combine:

3 Cups flour (king arthur is the best) and 1/4 tsp of baking soda

Beat:

1 1/3 cups of sugar, 2/3 cup butter, 1/2 cup crisco, 2 eggs, 2 tsp light corn syrup, 2 1/2 tsp vanilla extract, 3/4 tsp lemon extract

Add dry ingredients alternatively with 1/3 cup sour cream. Mix to blend. Use 1/4 or scoop to shape into a ball and then flatten. Bake 12-14 minutes at 350 degrees. Makes approx 20 cookies.

Fondant for b&w cookies:

boil in small pan:

1/4 cup light corn syrup with 1/2 cup water

Boil this for a few minutes so it really bubbles, as the first time I did it not long enough and it was not thickening as it should have after it cooled, so I made a second batch and boiled it longer. Remove from heat, add 5 cups of confectionary sugar, 3/4 tsp vanilla. Place 2 squares of finely chopped unsweetened chocolate (chopping it is very important, I skipped this step and my whole chocolate wouldn’t melt) in separate bowl and add 1 cup of the vanilla fondant you just made, stir till it melts the chocolate. The chocolate fondant hardens faster than the vanilla so make sure the cookies are ready and cool to frost. This step is no joke because my frosting started to turn to cement right away, so you might want an assistant to help you frost faster. Frost half of the cookie with chocolate and half with vanilla and viola, you have fancy bakery cookies right in your own kitchen! The texture of these cookies is amazing, they are soft and pillowy like cake. But this recipe is very hard and I would say make sure you have the time to follow all the steps to a T, as I was rushing and made a few mistakes.

Tags:

One Response to “Black & White Italian Cookies”

  1. Italian Rainbow Cookies | What Tara's Cookin' Says:

    […] I had the marzipan in my pantry I decided to go for it. This year I was also making my mom’s black and white cookies for Santa, they are such a yummy confection. The recipe I was using was by an Italian chef I really […]

Leave a Reply

