pound cake minus the pounds

In my attempt to bake things that are not bad for me I found this great Chocolate Vanilla Swirl pound cake recipe. It was from a spa resort restaurant where they try to make lighter dishes that taste good. I was initially looking for a recipe that had turbinado sugar in it, aka “sugar in the raw” because I was trying to use sugar in its natural form, not processed sugar. Oh and I didn’t make the “fantasy fudge sauce” listed but I took about 1/3 of the batter and just added 2T of cocoa powder and the 1/4t baking soda to it, mixed it and then swirled that chocolate version into the cake and it came out great.

Supposedly this pound cake is also low fat too, can you say “Winning”? Though most pound cakes taste better to me the second day when they have cooled, this one tasted even better fresh out of the oven. So if you want to bake but don’t want the guilt or the pounds in regular pound cake (most recipes are loaded with pounds of butter) give this resort recipe a try and take a guilt free vacay in your kitchen!

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

