Seeing things in Black and White

Give me an excuse to bake and I am on it. A fabulous couple I know invited me to dinner recently so I was excited to wow them with a favorite sweet treat of mine. I used to make my mom’s Black and White Cheesecake Brownies quite often and I had forgotten about them until I recently reorganized my recipe binder. Think decadent rich brownies with creamy cheesecake on top dotted with chocolate chips. Really you can’t go wrong with this marriage of my two favorite desserts.

My only tip is to use mini morsels for the chips, as regular sized chips are so heavy they will sink into the cheesecake layer when baking. This isn’t a bad thing because it creates a melted chocolate divider between the two layers, but the cheesecake is better with the tiny chips throughout. Everyone enjoyed these brownies at dinner and had seconds (myself I had like thirds, fourths and fifths until I was in a brownie coma).

Margie’s Black and White Cheesecake Brownies

One 12oz. package of Nestle semi-sweet mini morsels, divided (3/4 cup for cheesecake part below)

1/2 cup sugar

1/4 cup butter, softened

2 eggs

1 tsp. vanilla

1/2 tsp. salt

2/3 cup flour

Brownie Base: Melt over hot (not boiling) water, 1 and 1/4 cups mini chocolate chips, stir until smooth. Set aside, to cool slightly, but don’t let it thicken or harden. In a large bowl combine butter and sugar, beat until creamy. Add eggs, vanilla and salt, mix well. Add melted chocolate and flour, mix well. Spread into foil lined 9-inch square baking pan.

Cheesecake Topping:

One 8oz. package of cream cheese, softened

1/2 cup sugar

2 Tb. butter, softened

2 eggs

2 Tb. milk

1 Tb. flour

1/2 tsp Almond Extract

3/4 cup mini morsels

In a small bowl combine cream cheese, sugar and butter, beat until creamy. Add eggs, one at a time, milk (slowly), flour and almond extract. Beat well. Stir in mini chocolate chips. Pour over brownie base. Bake at 350 degrees for 40-45 minutes. Cool completely, cut into 2 and 1/4 inch squares, makes 16 brownies – or one giant one if you don’t want to share.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Seeing things in Black and White”

  1. j Says:

    Margie gives you some awesome recipes, love her for sharing them all with you. My mother can’t cook anything other than a bologna sandwich and my grandmother would share her recipes but leave a key ingredient or two out so it would never taste as good as hers, she prided her self on that. Now that she’s passed and selfishly took all the recipes with her, I would give anything to make her special sugar cookie recipe for when I am missing her. =( And that is why I very much appreciate when families share recipes w/each other, especially ones that have been passed on from generations that came before us. So Thank you Margie for not being stingy w/your recipes!!

    • Tara Says:

      thanks J, one of the best gifts she gave me was her recipes, she typed them all by hand and filled a whole recipe box, which I am sure took many hours, a true labor of love. I know I am lucky, especially with the Italian mama, they are usually stingy with the recipes! 🙂

Leave a Reply

