Perfect Pancakes

pancakes

I have been searching for the perfect pancake recipe for so long. For years I have made my tattered recipe I saved from Home Ec class as a good standby. But they were missing something. Campy even googled many different versions that we have experimented with over the years. Each time we had a tasty breakfast but something was still missing. Then I found this recipe. OMG! The pancakes were just like you get at a diner, thick, fluffy and delicious! I am not sure what the difference was in the steps or the ingredients but I can finally cross “find a perfect pancake recipe” off my bucket list (it was right under win powerball on my list, hoping that will come next). Maybe it was that the buttermilk was doubled compared to most recipes. Please use real buttermilk, making it at home with vinegar just doesn’t compare for this recipe. Maybe it was the exact combination of baking soda and baking powder, as each recipe I have has these combined in different amounts.

The biggest change I saw was when I put the batter in the pan it kept it’s shape and stayed nice and thick and fluffy, as opposed to my usual recipe where they were very flat. My family asked for seconds and we still had pancakes to spare to nuke for some nice hot school breakfasts. The weekend is the perfect time for a big breakfast for the price of free ninety nine – save the $ and the trip out and make these for you family to turn your kitchen into a truck stop IHOP.

Perfect Pancakes

2 C flour

1/4 C sugar

2 1/4 tsp Baking Powder

1/2 tsp Baking Soda

1/2 tsp salt

2 eggs

2 C of buttermilk

1/4 C of melted butter

Sift dry ingredients together, whisk wet ingredients together, then combine. Heat griddle to 350 or use stove on med heat, use butter to keep cakes from sticking, Flip once they start to bubble, second side doesn’t take as long to cook. Please serve only with real maple syrup 🙂 aka liquid gold

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

