The Bunny made me do it!

cake

Today the girls have me making this Easter Bunny cake we saw on food network. I decided to make my bunny chocolate so I had to find the perfect chocolate cake recipe (posted below). I have caught a few episodes of the Pioneer Woman and I thought I’d give her cake a go since her recipes look simple and delicious. I will post a pic of the bunny later, but for now, here is the chocolate cake. I halved the recipe since I only need 2 round cakes and it came out perfect!

Ingredients
Cake:
4 sticks butter, plus more for greasing
8 heaping tablespoons cocoa, plus more for dusting
4 cups all-purpose flour
4 cups sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 cups boiling water
1 cup buttermilk
2 teaspoons baking soda
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
4 whole eggs, beaten

Directions
For the cake: Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Heavily grease and dust with cocoa four 9-inch round cake pans.

In a mixing bowl, combine the flour, sugar and salt.

In a saucepan, melt the butter. Add the cocoa. Stir together. Add the boiling water, allow the mixture to boil for 30 seconds and then turn off the heat. Pour over the flour mixture and stir lightly to cool.

Combine the buttermilk, baking soda, vanilla and beaten eggs. Stir the buttermilk mixture into the butter/chocolate mixture.

Divide the batter among the prepared cake pans and bake for 20 minutes.

Cool completely before icing. Refrigerate the layers after cooling for best results.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “The Bunny made me do it!”

  1. sea horizon ec showflat Says:

    Oh my goodness! Amazing article dude! Many thanks, However
    I am having issues with your RSS. I don’t know why I am unable to subscribe to
    it. Is there anybody else having similar RSS problems? Anyone
    that knows the answer can you kindly respond? Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

