Celebrate with Cake, C’mon!

cake

My husband got a special twinkle in his eye the other night after he received some good news on a promotion. I know what that twinkle means, it means “what are you gonna bake me?” Usually he has a specific treat in mind but this time he left it up to me. I wracked my brain thinking of the yummy things he likes and the first thing that came to mind was mayonnaise.  Mayonnaise Cake that is, I have heard of recipes using mayo as your moistening agent and your oil. So I went to Hellmann’s website and was surprised to find how many yummy mayo recipes there are for all sorts of things. I went with their famous chocolate cake. They also have a box version but I rarely use a box mix because taking the time to make it homemade for a special occasion shows you care.

Of course I needed a killer frosting to top it off. But by killer I don’t mean the jar of frosting that you get at the store which will probably literally kill you with all the crap they put in it. My hubby likes cream cheese frosting the most but I was feeling chocolatey. So I went to the king of all chocolatier’s websites – Ghirardelli, and what do you know, they have a great recipe section too! (I printed their chocolate bread pudding recipe to make in the future). Their chocolate frosting recipe was simple and so incredibly rich, creamy and delicious. It was like you melted a candy bar and put it on a cake. As you can see above, my cake is not super pretty, but I threw it together quick, we were too hungry for Cake Boss perfection. The cake combined with the frosting did not disappoint, it was so moist from the mayo and the frosting paired perfectly with it. So here is my celebration cake combination:

Hellmann’s Chocolate Cake
Ingredients
  • 2 cups All-Purpose Flour
  • 2/3 cup Unsweetened Cocoa Powder
  • 1-1/4 teaspoon Baking Soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon Baking Powder
  • 3 Eggs
  • 1-2/3 cups Sugar
  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla Extract
  • 1 cup Hellmann’s® or Best Foods® Real Mayonnaise
  • 1 1/3 cups Water

Baking instructions:

1. Preheat oven to 350°. Grease and lightly flour two 9-inch round cake pans*; set aside.

2. In medium bowl, combine flour, cocoa, baking soda and baking powder; set aside.

3. In large bowl, with electric mixer at high speed, beat eggs, sugar and vanilla for 3 minutes or until light and fluffy. Beat in Hellmann’s® or Best Foods® Real Mayonnaise at low speed until blended. Alternately beat in flour mixture with water, beginning and ending with flour mixture. Pour into prepared pans.

4. Bake 30 minutes or until toothpick inserted in centers comes out clean. On wire racks, cool 10 minutes; remove from pans and cool completely. Frost when cake has cooled completely

Ghirardelli Premium Chocolate Frosting

Ingredients:

4 ounces Ghirardelli Semi-Sweet Chocolate Baking Bar
4 tablespoon(s) butter
3 cups powdered sugar
1/3 cup hot milk
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/8 teaspoon salt

Directions

In heavy saucepan on low heat, melt broken chocolate with butter, stirring constantly. Beat sugar with milk, vanilla, and salt until smooth. Add melted chocolate, and beat until thick enough to spread on cake.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

