Who’s coming to Sunday Dinner?

I love trying new recipes, especially when I don’t plan to. I asked my hubby to pick up a pot roast at the grocery store, if you haven’t checked it out yet, try my amazing pot roast recipe I posted on here. I am very thankful when he does the grocery shopping for me so I don’t complain when he doesn’t get the exact item on my list. He brought home a beef bottom round roast so I typed that into google and viola, I found a Sunday roast beef dinner. I had always wanted to make a Sunday roast and never knew what cut of meat you needed to do that, I assumed it was some pricey sort of prime rib or something, but the bottom round roast was just as affordable as the pot roast I had put on the list. By the way, for pot roast you usually use a chuck roast. I was pretty sure the leaner and tougher bottom round roast would not turn into a tender pot roast, so I am glad I found the recipe below. My Sunday roast turned out amazing, as did my gravy, which I have never had success with before. The marinating before baking with the worcestershire sauce and also the rub really made the flavors sing. Also I made it with some homemade whipped mashed potatoes, the perfect accompaniment. So if you are planning a tasty Sunday dinner, check out my recipe and enjoy!

Sunday Roast Beef with Pan Gravy

Roast Beef:

  • 1 (4-to-5-pound) Boneless Beef Bottom Round Roast Or Rump Roast
  • 2 tablespoon(s) Worcestershire Sauce
  • 1 teaspoon(s) Powdered Garlic
  • 1 teaspoon(s) Onion Powder
  • 1 teaspoon(s) Paprika
  • 1 tablespoon(s) (plus 1/4 teaspoon) Coarsely Ground Black Pepper
  • 2 1/2 teaspoon(s) Coarse Salt

Pan Gravy:

  • 3 tablespoon(s) All-Purpose Flour
  • 2 cup(s) Beef Broth

Directions

  1. Prepare the Roast: Adjust the rack to the bottom of the oven and heat to 425 degrees F. Blot any excess moisture from the roast, rub the Worcestershire sauce over the entire roast, and allow to marinate for 30 minutes, turning it twice.
  2. Combine the powdered garlic, onion powder, paprika, and 1 tablespoon coarse-ground pepper in a small bowl; sprinkle the seasoning mixture evenly over the roast, pressing it, and let the roast stand for 20 to 30 minutes. Rub the meat with 2 teaspoons salt, place fat side up in a shallow roasting pan, and roast for 15 minutes.
  3. Reduce oven temperature to 325 degrees F and continue to roast until the meat’s internal temperature reaches 130 degrees F — about 2 hours. Let the roast stand for 20 minutes before slicing.
  4. Prepare the Gravy: Skim any fat from the liquid that remains in the roasting pan. Whisk the flour and 1/2 cup water together to a paste; set aside.
  5. Scrape the drippings from the bottom of the roasting pan, add the beef broth, and stir over medium heat until the mixture begins to simmer. While continuously whisking, add the flour paste and bring to a boil.
  6. Reduce heat to medium-low and let simmer for 4 to 5 minutes. If needed, add a little water to thin the gravy. Add remaining salt and pepper; serve warm.

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

