Snickerdoodles are nothing to snicker at

cookie

I have many go to cookie recipes I stick to but every now and then I try something new. Recently I saw a recipe for Snickerdoodles on my King Arthur bread flour bag. Yes folks, I typed that right, bread flour?! I have never thought of making cookies with bread flour but I was intrigued. In my baking endeavors I have found changing up the flour, using cake flour for example, can yield totally different results. This recipe was simple and I had everything in my cabinet and it was from one of my favorite recipe sites, so it was a go. I don’t think I have ever made snickerdoodles and honestly I wasn’t a huge fan of the grocery store version. These cookies came out delish, they were buttery, soft and moist and I could pronounce all the ingredients – bonus! So if you want to whip up an easy tasty treat that is sure to please your peeps, check this out:

Snickerdoodles

  • 1/2 cup butter, at room temperature
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/3 cups King Arthur Unbleached Bread Flour
  • *If you use unsalted butter, increase the salt to 1/2 teaspoon.

coating

  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 to 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon, to taste

directions

1) Preheat the oven to 375°F. Lightly grease (or line with parchment) two baking sheets.

2) Beat together the butter and sugar until smooth.

3) Add the egg, beating until smooth.

4) Beat in the vanilla, salt, and baking powder.

5) Add the flour, mixing until totally incorporated.

6) To make the coating: Shake together the sugar and cinnamon in a medium-sized zip-top plastic bag.

7) Drop 1″ balls of dough into the bag; a teaspoon cookie scoop works well here. Roll/toss the cookies in the cinnamon-sugar until they’re completely coated.

8) Space the cookies at least 1 1/2″ apart on the prepared baking sheets. Use a flat-bottom glass to flatten them to about 3/8″ thick; they’ll be about 1 1/2″ in diameter.

9) Bake the cookies for 8 minutes (for soft cookies) to 10 minutes (for crunchier cookies). Remove them from the oven, and cool them on the pan until they’re firm enough to transfer to a rack to cool completely.

Yield: 3 1/2 dozen cookies.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

