“Get in my belly” strawberry shortcake cake

cake1

My new favorite cooking go to buddy is the Pioneer Woman. Maybe you have seen her show on Food Network or read her blog, but if not, check her out. She speaks to me in my language – cooking ridiculously delicious things from scratch. I have made a few of her recipes on here, most recently I made her fajita recipe again that I posted here. I offered to make a cake for someone’s birthday and I went to her amazing blog and just simply searched “cake.” I like doing this as the variety of options that come up are endless, from angel food cake, to decadent chocolate peanut butter to fruity summer treats. I suggest you check out her blog, not only does she post amazing food photography and step by step photos, but she has new take on old favorites, great holiday recipes,  and a recipe for pretty much anything.

So on a recent search I was curious about her strawberry shortcake cake recipe that popped up. I love strawberry shortcake and have tried many versions. This one was not a typical biscuit or sponge cake with strawberry topping and whipped cream recipe. It was the ingredients you would expect to find in this dessert but with a twist – cake and cream cheese frosting. Let me put it out there that I LOVE cream cheese frosting. I don’t know if it is because it is sort of like a quick cheesecake flavored treat or if it is because it is rich and creamy and great to top anything from cinnamon rolls to brownies to carrot cake. Anyhow a strawberry shortcake with cream cheese frosting sounded intriguing. So I decided to give it a go.

The cake in this “shortcake” is like one I never tasted. It is like a sponge cake but not as soft and it has amazing flavor and texture. In the last few years I became a strawberry shortcake biscuit recipe fan, and had gone away from the cake version. Anyhow, this cake was amazing, it was the perfect vessel for the strawberries and cream cheese.  I am not exaggerating when I say this is ONE OF THE BEST CAKES I HAVE EVER TASTED. Something about the cake and the way you smash up the strawberries and then layer them with cream cheese frosting over the strawberries and then over the entire cake, makes it just sing in your mouth. Plus this cream cheese frosting is richer and more tasty than any I have made before and will be my new go to version for other recipes. This shortcake cake is one that you’ll be salivating over for years to come.

cake5

split the cake when cool

cake3

smash up your fresh berries

cake4

make the cream cheese frosting of my dreams

cake2

it may look plan but inside this cake is magic!

Next time I will top it with more berries for pretty decorations.

Strawberry Shortcake Cake

Ingredients

Cake

  • 1 1/2 cups Flour
  • 3 Tablespoons Cornstarch
  • 1/2 teaspoon Salt
  • 1 teaspoon Baking Soda
  • 9 Tablespoons Unsalted Butter, Softened
  • 1 1/2 cups Sugar
  • 3 whole Large Eggs
  • 1/2 cup Sour Cream, Room Temperature
  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla

Icing

  • 1/2 pound (80z) Cream Cheese, Room Temperature
  • 2 sticks Unsalted Butter
  • 1 1/2 pounds Powdered Sugar, Sifted
  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla
  • 1 pound Strawberries

Preparation Instructions

IMPORTANT: Be sure to use a cake pan that’s at least 2 inches deep! Before baking, the batter should not fill the pan more than halfway. (I used a spring foam 9 inch cheesecake pan which shortened my baking time a bit)

Sift together flour, salt, baking soda, and corn starch.
Cream 9 tablespoons butter with the sugar until light and fluffy. Add eggs one at a time, mixing well each time. Add sour cream and vanilla and mix until combined. Add sifted dry ingredients and mix on low speed until just barely combined.

Pour into greased and floured 8-inch cake pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 45 to 50 minutes, or until no longer jiggly like my bottom (from the pioneer woman, not me, haha). Remove from cake pan as soon as you pull it out of the oven, and place on a cooling rack and allow it to cool completely.

Stem strawberries and slice them in half from bottom to top. Place into a bowl and sprinkle with 3 tablespoons sugar. Stir together and let sit for 30 minutes. After 30 minutes, mash the strawberries in two batches. Sprinkle each half with 1 tablespoons sugar and allow to sit for another 30 minutes.

Make icing: combine cream cheese, 2 sticks butter, sifted powdered sugar, vanilla, and dash of salt in a mixing bowl. Mix until very light and fluffy.

Slice cake in half through the middle. Spread strawberries evenly over each half (cut side up), pouring on all the juices. Place cake halves into the freezer for five minutes, just to make icing easier.

Remove from freezer. Use a little less than 1/3 of the icing to spread over the top of the strawberries on the bottom layer. Place the second layer on top. Add half of the remaining icing to the top spreading evenly, then spread the remaining 1/3 cup around the sides.

Leave plain OR garnish with strawberry halves.

IMPORTANT: Cake is best when served slightly cool. The butter content in the icing will cause it to soften at room temperature. For best results, store in the fridge!

 

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to ““Get in my belly” strawberry shortcake cake”

  1. sophiebowns Says:

    This looks gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

