New York Crumb Cake

crumb

I have tried many coffee cake recipes and have yet to find one I did not like. But my most favorite type of coffee cake is a crumb cake. There are a few regular recipes I use but my mom always makes the NY crumb cake version and had given me the recipe. I did not try it until recently and I am glad I did. It was super easy to make and it was the best coffeecake I have made in a while. I should have know it was good because my mom gave it a 6 star rating. It tasted exactly like an Entenmann’s crumb cake, minus the ingredients you can’t pronounce. So if you need something sweet to start your holiday breakfast off right, try this easy treat and you won’t disappoint!

New York Crumb Cake

Makes 1 9×13 inch cake

Cake Ingredients:

2 Tablespoons of canola oil, plus more to brush the pan

1 1/2 cups of all purpose flour, plus more for pan

1/2 cup of granulated sugar

2 1/2 teaspoons of baking powder

1/2 teaspoon of salt

1 large egg

1/2 cup of milk

2 teaspoons of pure vanilla extract

Topping:

1 cup of light brown sugar, packed

1 1/2 teaspoons of ground cinnamon

1 cup (2 sticks) of unsalted butter, melted and cooled

2 1/2 cups of all purpose flour

+confectioners sugar for dusting after baking, a must!

1. Place rack in center of oven and heat oven to 325 degrees. Lightly brush a 9×13 inch pan with canola oil, dust with flour, tap out excess. Set aside. In a medium bowl, sift together flour, granulated sugar, baking powder, and salt; set aside. In a second bowl, whisk together egg, milk, canola oil, and vanilla. Using a rubber spatula, fold dry ingredients into egg mixture. I think the canola oil is what makes the texture of this cake so soft and light like the store version, all of my coffee cake recipes usually call for butter. Spread the batter evenly in the prepared pan, it will be pretty thin and look like this:

 

batter

 

 

In a medium bowl combine topping ingredients: flour, brown sugar, and cinnamon. Pour melted butter over flour mixture and toss with rubber spatula until large crumbs form like this:
crumble

 

Sprinkle crumbs over batter so it looks like this, the white stuff is flour, not confectionary sugar (save that for after baking), I just had some flour in the bottom of my bowl.

cakebefore

Transfer pan to oven, and bake for 10 minutes. Rotate pan and continue baking until cake tester comes out clean, about 10 more minutes. Transfer pan to wire baking rack to cool. Dust cake with confectioners sugar using a metal strainer for a pretty effect. Cut into three inch squares and store in an airtight container for up to 3 days. Enjoy!!!

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “New York Crumb Cake”

  1. Marg Schirm Says:

    wish I was there for some! great job, looks perfect

  2. Arielle Says:

    It looks so delicious!! ❤

Leave a Reply

