Margie’s Marinated Mushrooms

IMG_4061

If you get to attend one of my Italian Sunday Suppers you know I am going to put out my favorite hand painted Antipasto set. In that set are little dishes for all sorts of goodies. Even if you don’t have a special antipasto dish you can still put out an easy to assemble antipasto that will impress your guests. My go to ingredients are: stuffed olives, roasted peppers or pepperocini, salame, prosciutto, marinated mushrooms, sundried tomatoes, artichoke hearts and a center plate with caprese salad. For my caprese I use sliced campari tomatoes with fresh mozzarella and fresh basil and I drizzle it with olive oil and sprinkle sea salt and cracked pepper. If you don’t do the caprese you can always cut up some sharp provolone or even make bruschetta. Sometimes I use all of the above and sometimes I mix it up. Once I even made my caprese salad with grilled zuccini instead of the usual tomatoes. Antipasto is Italian for “before the meal” and it is a lighter appetizer than most heavy american dishes.

When we lived in Sicily the antipasto was my favorite course. I can still remember the fragrant flavors and the cured meats combined with the sweet homemade ricotta and salty veggies marinated in oil and spices. I recently hosted a Sunday supper and when I was picking up all my ingredients, I saw marinated mushrooms at the deli. They were very pricey and I thought, why not just make them for way less. In my treasured recipe box that my mom gave to me filled with all of her famous dishes I had her homemade marinated mushroom recipe. I have made it before and it is very simple and always a hit. Mushroom is translated to “Funghi” in Italian and there are a variety of different varieties with so many flavors. But for my recipe I just use basic button mushrooms. So here is a great addition to your antipasto spread or an easy appetizer for a party:

Mahgie’s Marinated Mushrooms

Ingredients:

3/4 cup of good olive oil

1/3 cup of red wine vinegar

1 1/2 tsp salt

3/4 tsp sugar

1/2 tsp of dried basil or a few fresh leaves

1 bay leaf

1 garlic clove, quartered

8 peppercorns

1 1/2 lbs of mushrooms, rinsed, halved or quartered if large

  1. In a medium pan over medium heat, heat all ingredients to boiling, except mushrooms.
  2. Simmer over low heat, covered, 10 minutes.
  3. Stir in mushrooms until coated, cook 5-10 minutes or until fork tender. Refrigerate covered. Manga!
Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Margie’s Marinated Mushrooms”

  1. Marg Schirm Says:

    Most of the time I do not cut the mushrooms as the button ones are the right size. This recipe is always a hit!

Leave a Reply

